Lucea is the capital of Jamaica's smallest parish, Hanover and is located between two major tourist areas - Negril and Montego Bay.

It was founded circa 1515 when settlers relocated from Jamaica’s first capital (Sevilla la Nueva) to Lucea, known at the time as King’s Valley. 

When the parish of Hanover was created in 1723, Lucea became its capital.

During the 18th century, the farmers in Lucea and Hanover parish provided the majority of Jamaica with most of its produce but mainly exported banana and logwood, which is used to make dyes.  In 1766, Lucea became a free port and until its closure in 1983.

Lucea Yams are a major product of the parish.

In the 19th and early 20th century, yams grown in Lucea and Hanover parish were exported from the port of Lucea to places like Colón and Cuba.  These places had large Jamaican populations because thousands of Jamaican residents migrated to different countries for work opportunities.  Many Jamaicans were also employed on the Panama Canal and on various sugar and banana plantations.

Lucea has three waterfalls:  Dry Hill, Paradise and Kempshot Falls.

For those who love history, consider visiting the Hanover Museum.

The Hanover Museum is a former slave prison. Founded in 1992, this museum tells visitors about Jamaica’s importance in the sugar and banana trade under British occupation. There are original artifacts onsite and a well-preserved workhouse.

The architecture at the Old Lucea Courthouse, the Hanover Parish Church, and Fort Charlotte are also worth noting.


* Information was obtained from the Jamaica National Heritage Trust website and several internet sources.